Colorado Labor Laws – Wage and Hour

Colorado’s Employment Law Handbook – Includes topics on:

  • Minimum wage
  • Overtime
  • Meal and breaks
  • Vacation leave
  • Sick leave
  • Holiday leave
  • Jury duty leave
  • Voting leave
  • Severance pay

Colorado Wage Payment Laws

Colorado’s Employment Law Handbook – Includes topics on:

  • Current minimum wage
  • Minimum employees required
  • Exempt employees
  • Non-exempt employees
  • Overtime
  • Child Labor Laws
  • Tipped wages
  • Hours worked
  • Travel time
  • Waiting time
  • On-call time
  • Sleeping time
  • Meeting and training time
  • Suffered or permitted to work
  • Suffered or permitted to work
  • State minimum wage and overtime laws

DOL’s Internship Fact Sheet #71

This fact sheet provides general information to help determine whether interns and students working for “for-profit” employers are entitled to minimum wages and overtime pay under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).1

Equal Pay for Equal Work – Gender Equity Law for Colorado

Please note that starting January 1, 2021, the State of Colorado has implemented the Equal Pay for Equal Work Act. This act covers a number of requirements and prohibitions for employers in order to prevent pay disparities. Specifically, we want to draw employers’ attention to several critical components:  

  1. Employers are required to disclose in each job posting the hourly or salary compensation range along with the general description of benefits and other potential compensation  
  1. Employers are prohibited from requesting wage rate history of a perspective employee or requiring it as a condition of employment  
  1. Employers are required to maintain records of job descriptions and wage rate history for each employee while employed and for 2 years after employment ends  

Further information on this act and which employers must abide by these regulations can be found here. If you have additional questions, please connect with your organization’s Human Resources department or legal counsel. 

New Employer User Account link

Step 1 of getting set up in Handshake as an employer is to first create an employer user account. This is something that each new user will need to do. Use this link to get started.

Handshake Help Center for Employers

An excellent resource to find answers to all of your employer Handshake questions, including posting a job, requesting an interview, video tutorials, and many other topics.

On – Campus Job Posting Guide

Guide for posting on-campus jobs in Handshake. Departments that consistently utilize this guide will be eligible for auto-approval status for job postings. This is re-evaluated approximately every 6 months.