Previous Career Impact Award Winners

2019 Career Impact Award Winners

Michele Bratschun

Alum of the Year

Michele Bratschun, an Educational Ranger with the National Park Service, keeps the park involved in a variety of career related endeavors and is quick to volunteer for CSU career events like FedConnect, Resume Rush, and RamWelcome.


Employer of the Year

The Colorado Association of School Personnel Administrators (CASPA) is an association of school district Human Resource administrators and university faculty that work collaboratively to advance public education in Colorado. They partner with the Center for Educator Preparation at CSU to promote, advocate, and provide networking career opportunities for students and graduates.

Ashira Jones

Recruiter of the Year

Ashira Jones is the Northern Region Lead & University Advisory Board Coordinator for Halliburton. Through Ashira’s influence, the Walter Scott Jr. College of Engineering launched ENpower, a “bridge-to-college program” in 2016 with funding from the Halliburton Foundation. This in-residence program for historically underserved freshmen helps minority, female, and first-generation students make a successful transition to CSU and build a peer network.

Dr. John Hayes

Distinguished Administrator

John Hayes, Dean for Warner College of Natural Resources, was recognized for supporting all students in their career development by allocating funds for students to explore career beyond the classroom and showing up to events that have a career emphasis.

Paul Layden

Distinguished Faculty

Paul Layden is an Instructor within the Human Dimensions of Natural Resources program. Professor Layden crafted an internship program within the major and has developed working relationships with over 400 companies, non-governmental organizations, and natural resource agencies to help students network.

Beka Crocket

Distinguished Staff Member

Beka Crocket is the Director of Student Success in the College of Agricultural Sciences. She provides a “continuum of career” to students from admission to graduation by providing them career counseling and creating programs that help them jump into a meaningful career.

Allison Penfield

Supervisor of the Year

Allison Penfield, Assistant Director in the Student Disability Center, guides the professional development of each student staff member in her office to help them obtain the skills and experience necessary for their continued success during their education at CSU and beyond.

Gillian Fahey

Student of the Year

Gillian Fahey, a junior electrical engineering student was recognized for her extra-curricular involvement that empowers women in STEM fields and her work in the Career Center connecting students to employers.

DREAMers United Student Organization

Student Group of the Year

The DREAMers United student organization was recognized for engaging in career development regularly at their organizational meetings, having members serve on career related panels, and working with Student Legal Services to learn more about how to start their own businesses.

Julian Kendrick

Student Employee of the Year

Julia Kendrick is a student employee within the University Center for the Arts-School of Music, Theater & Dance and was praised for her ability to lead and train a new team of incoming staff in her role.

Terry Comerford

Outstanding Career Advocate

Terry Comerford is the Engineering Success Center Director at the Walter Scott Junior College of Engineering. Terry was recognized for her work creating a standalone Engineering Career Fair, serving as an advisor to the Society of Women Engineers, and for helping to create the “ENpower Bridge Program” within her college.

2018 Career Impact Award Winners

Marley Smith

Student of the Year

Senior forestry major Marley Smith for setting an example among her peers by showcasing leadership in career exploratory experiences and introducing her peers to career options within their field.

Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Related Sciences (MANRRS) representatives

Student Group of the Year

Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Related Sciences (MANRRS) for actively encouraging professional development around career growth.

Brett Beal

Distinguished Staff Member

Senior Academic Advisor Brett Beal in the School of Biomedical Engineering for weaving career into all of her conversations with fellow staff, faculty and students.

Ty Petersburg

Alumnus of the Year

Area Wildlife Manager Ty Petersburg of Colorado Parks & Wildlife, a 2001 graduate, has been helping current students find careers.

Waypoint Real Estate representatives

Growing Colorado Business of the Year

Waypoint Real Estate, a commercial real estate company, has invested time and energy into CSU programs such as the Everitt Real Estate Center and Ramstrength Foundation and has hired several CSU graduates.

Lokana Reed

Recruiter of the Year

Lokana Reed, Target’s lead executive recruiter, for connecting students to meaningful careers in leadership.

Janay Deloach-Soukup,

Alumnus Entrepreneur of the Year

Janay Deloach-Soukup, a two-time Olympian and 2012 Olympic bronze medalist in the long jump, for founding Podium Performance, a speed and agility camp aimed to provide premiere coaching and training to Northern Colorado youth.

Keysight Technologies representative

The Employer of the Year

Keysight Technologies, a company that provides innovative software solutions. Keysight has made systemic changes in its recruiting and hiring process to better serve underrepresented groups and identities.

Bridgette Johnson

Distinguished Administrator

Bridgette Johnson, director of the Black/African American Cultural Center at CSU, for stimulating the career ecosystem throughout her office and among her peers.

Dr. Kevin Lear

Distinguished Faculty

Dr. Kevin Lear, director of the School of Biomedical Engineering’s undergraduate program, who was recognized for successfully integrating career into his classroom, working individually with students and connecting students to career preparedness and readiness opportunities.

Jody Drager

Career Impact Award

Jody Drager, school district liaison and career development coordinator in the School of Education, for her ability to integrate the idea of education as a career in multiple forms, especially in the area of opportunities in the education industry for historically marginalized populations.